h1

Scam

April 3, 2010

Clay Pots, Oil on Canvas 11" x 14"

The internet is a wonderful tool for anyone marketing their business. The internet allows me to offer my works to the marketplace via my website, my Face Book account and this Blog. I am able to keep in contact with my patrons, students and fans. I also make my works and activities available to anyone surfing the internet.

Thanks to these internet vehicles, I have received responses to my listings. People have contacted me to find out more about where they can see the work on display. They have contacted me to relate their reaction or interest in specific pieces. People have also contacted me to inquire about purchasing my artwork.

Most inquiries to purchase my artworks come from people I already know. However, last week, I received the following e-mail via my website:

“Hello, Good day to you over there, My name is Christopher  I’m from New Jersey and i hope this message finds you well.I was going through your works and my eyes caught Field Patterns And Roberts Refuge 21″ x 29″, i will like to have it for my new Abode. please let me know if the piece is available, if yes let me have the detailed price and more information about it. i will be waiting to read from you asap.
Christopher…”

A scam. There are several variations of  scam form letters used by these snakes so they become easy to detect. Thanks to the internet social networks, artists are able to easily and quickly communicate and warn others of schemes and scams. To be forewarned is to be forearmed.

The tragedy is that these scams can hamper your faith in people. They make you skeptical of legitimate offers from honest people.

For now, I will keep painting and take precautions to minimize the chance that I fall victim to any of these scams.

Good news. Today I received a notice from the Watercolor Society of Alabama. My watercolor painting, When It’s Ajar, has been accepted to their 69th annual exhibition.

Leave a Reply

