h1

Plein Air – Kishwaukee River

August 25, 2010

Kishwaukee Current, Oil on Canvas 16" x 20"

Last Thursday, I had the itch to go out and paint on-location. The weather forecast called for a sunny day.  It was also predicted to be warm and humid.  I ventured a few miles south of Rockford to a park along the Kishwaukee River.

I quickly found a spot along the river in the shade of a couple trees. I proceeded to set up my gear. The mosquitoes were quick to greet me. Several applications of bug spray while I set up settled the little varmints a bit. I opted to work on a 16″ x 20″ canvas. If I kept still, no problems with mosquitoes. When I moved around to get more paint on my palette, grab a new brush from my bag or to step back to get some perspective on my work – I stirred up the critters a bit.

Unfortunately for you, I got so busy and involved in my painting that I only took one photo of my work in progress. Sorry.

Site used for Kishwaukee Current

Kishwaukee Current after block-in

Kishwaukee Current, Oil on Canvas 16" x 20"

Leave a comment