h1

Adieu 2010

December 31, 2010

Frozen Field, Oil on Gessoed Paper 6" x 8"

I bid adieu to 2010. Another year of doing what I love to do – create art.

I had several paintings accepted into local, regional and national exhibitions. A few works received awards and one painting was published as a title page in North Light Book’s Splash 11: New Directions. I conducted a couple of fun and successful workshops, one in Rockford and one in Door County Wisconsin. I participated in a plein air competition, created a lot of studio and plein air paintings and made some new friends.

It was a tough year in some respects. Sales were not as strong as I desired, but that is a risk of the business.  At moments, I lacked the courage to pursue a subject, design or size of painting which I could have. At moments, I lacked the patience to ensure that I got the design, color or mood to correctly capture the scene that I would have. At moments, I lacked the foresight necessary to finish as many works as I should have.

In review of 2010, I have plans to implement for further success in 2011. I already have three workshops scheduled (an oil painting workshop February 12, a two day watercolor workshop February 19 & 20, and a watercolor workshop at Dillman’s June 5 – 10) and will be petitioning for two workshops this summer through Rock Valley College. For Christmas, I received a small paint box which will enable me to tackle smaller plein air oil paintings and studies when my regular set up is not feasible. I am sending submissions to and plan to participate in several plein air oil competitions this year. I have received notice that Woodwalk Gallery in Door County Wisconsin will represent my plein air works starting in the spring of 2011. I have ambitions to translate more of my plein air works into much larger studio versions and plan to unveil at least six by Rockford’s Spring Art Scene in mid-April.

So long, farewell, good-bye 2010.

Creek Shadows, Oil on Gessoed Paper 6" x 8"

Leave a Reply

