h1

Reflections at Trask

March 16, 2011

Reflections at Trask, Oil on Canvas 14" x 11"

Back in October, Clawed and I ventured to a park located west of Rockford. In addition to the plein air painting completed that day, I also took  some sketches and a few photographs.

A few days ago, I came across the sketches while looking for a subject to paint. I changed the colors a bit to play this design in a more monochromatic mood. I completed the painting that afternoon, or so I thought. After looking at the work that evening and the next morning, I felt that the painting was too flat. I needed to add some darker tones to help give volume to the trees. I worked in some darker and warmer tones into the trees and pumped up the reflections in the water as well.

Leave a Reply

