h1

Franklin Flow

June 8, 2011

Franklin Flow-Study, Oil on Canvas 11" x 14"

I worked this first study based on some sketches and a couple photos taken a couple years ago. We were working on location south of Rockford. It was one of those days when the sun played hide and seek with clouds. It was tough to establish and hold onto a vision of the work at hand. Until I could settle in, I spent time sketching and getting photos for potential paintings.

I liked the colors and brush strokes of this little study, but felt there was an issue with the design. I felt uncomfortable with the tangent created where the right bank moves behind the left bank. I decided to play with the design and do another small study (below). I feel that the design will work better. I am already starting a larger version which incorporates this design alteration.

Franklin Flow-Study2, Oil on Gessoed Paper 6" x 8"

Leave a Reply

