h1

Plein Air – White Pines

July 7, 2011

Plein Air June 28, 2011 #1, Oil on Canvas Panel 6" x 8"

Plein Air June 28, 2011 #2, Oil on Canvas Panel 6" x 8"

Plein Air June28, 2011 #3, oil on Canvas Panel 6" x 8"

The Eagles Nest group decided that we should go to White Pines for the day. There was no specific meeting spot. It was decided that we should find our own place to paint in the morning and gather at the lodge for lunch.

I was already about half way through my first painting when the rest of the group arrived. I spent time painting points along the river. On the third painting, I encountered a challenge. It was late morning and full sun. The glare off of the canvas panel and the palette made it difficult to accurately judge my values and colors.

We broke for lunch. I encountered a macaw in the bathroom of the visitor center – really. I was pleasantly surprised when I return to my studio and discovered that the colors and values of the third painting worked well. I look forward to getting back to this location again, especially this autumn.

Leave a Reply

