h1

Plein Air – Watertown Road

July 15, 2011

Plein Air July 5, 2011 #1, Oil on Canvas Panel 6" x 8"

Plein Air July 5, 2011 #2, Oil on Canvas Panel 6" x 8"

Plein Air July 5, 2011 #3, Oil on Canvas Panel 6" x 8"

Plein air painting in Ogle County with the Eagles Nest group. I was the first to arrive. I liked the view from the entrance to the farm. I set up and painted away. Shortly into the painting, I realized that one of the residents was not happy with the spot which I selected for painting. No, not the person. It was a Redwing Blackbird. Although the bird did not come after me, he did make a lot of noise until I finished the painting, packed up my supplies and left.

As I worked the first painting, four other artists arrived, found their spots and started their paintings. After completing my first painting and surrendering my spot to the bird, I moved around and finally settled on a view of the barn. The work painted itself. #2 completed.

I still had about 50 minutes before we would break for lunch. Although I tried to find another desirable view of one of the farm buildings, I kept getting drawn back to a view of the main house. I set up my gear under the shade of a tree alongside the main drive. About halfway through painting #3, I became aware of more noise. Seems that I was getting too close to another birds domain. I endured the screeching long enough to finish #3.

We broke for lunch, then I headed back to Rockford to spend some time painting in the studio. It was relatively quiet in the studio. No birds to disturb me there.

Leave a Reply

