h1

Door County 2011 – part 4

July 29, 2011

Plein Air July 24; Oil on Canvas Panel 6" x 8"

Sunday morning I woke up around 7:00am. As Helen slept, I was antsy. I was still a little bummed out about my result at the Dockside Paint Out. I needed to do something. Those weather guys had predicted rain for this morning. No rain though, and look, I see sunshine. I was tempted to go for a run, but figured that traveling back to Illinois with sweat soaked running gear might not be a swift idea. After stewing for awhile (long enough to kind of wake Helen), I got a cup of coffee from the lobby and walked around the hotel grounds.

After rambling around for a few minutes, I noticed a design across the road from the hotel. Helen was waking up and indicated that she wanted to enjoy a long shower. Great. I grabbed my gear, set up and started to paint this scene. About halfway through my painting, Helen made her way out of the hotel and over to some Adirondack chairs where she relaxed. Once the painting was complete, I swiftly cleaned up, put my gear away and showered. We packed up the car, headed out for breakfast, well by this time, brunch. Meal done and paid for, we reluctantly departed Door County…for now. Off to Illinois to attend a graduation party for our niece.

It was a great, relaxing, memorable and productive four days in an area we love. I can hardly wait for the next trip up here.

Leave a Reply

