h1

Plein Air – Lowden State Park

August 23, 2011

Plein Air August 9 #1, Oil on Canvas Panel 6" x 8"

Plein Air August 9 #2, Oil on Canvas Panel 6" x 8"

The Eagles Nest group selected to paint at Lowden State Park. The thought was that the park could offer a lot of available shade. This was important after all of the HOT, sunny days which we have experienced over the past month and a half.

This day turned out to be very comfortable. Sunny and temperatures in the 70’s during the morning. I traveled out to the park following a six mile run. I arrived as the others were still trying to locate their spots and set up their easels. I quickly found a spot in the shade which offered an interesting view of some playground equipment. Although currently in shade, I anticipated that by the time I would be adding finishing touches, the equipment would be in the sun and offer an interesting finish. Before I started to paint, I took a quick look around my spot and noticed the interesting shadow patterns within the trees. That worked to become painting #1.

I aimed to do another painting and do the playground equipment. Same method and same result. A tree at the edge of the woods offered a more interesting opportunity. Painting #2.

Perhaps I will get a painting of the playground equipment next time.

Leave a Reply

