h1

Plein Air – Lost Nation

September 5, 2011

August 16 #1, Oil on Canvas Panel 6" x 8"

August 16 #2, Oil on Canvas Panel 6" x 8"

The Eagles Nest group opted to paint at a subdivision a few miles south of Oregon. They have several public areas which offer good subjects. I brought Clawed.

Upon entering the village, I spotted a few members who were set up and painting at a beach. I set up near them, at a shaded spot in the grass. Clawed sniffed around the area for several minutes and, after greeting the other members, found a place to lay down and relax. As I started the first painting, the scene was in full sun. About two thirds of the way through, I realized that clouds were moving in. Quick mental notes about the sun saved me.

It was almost 11:30am when I finished my first painting. The other members were still at work. I decided to try to complete another painting before lunch. Soon after I set to work, the other members started to clean up and break for lunch. I worked quickly and finished #2 just about noon.

Following lunch, Clawed and I headed home. I did some work in the studio while Clawed caught up on his sleep.

Leave a Reply

