h1

Plein Air October 18

November 17, 2011

Plein Air October 18 #1, Oil on Canvas Panel 6" x 8"

Out to Oregon to meet friends at Fairgrounds Park. Clawed and I had to make a couple stops prior to getting out to Oregon. Arrived later than I wanted to. Only one other member was present.

Overcast/cloudy. Temperature in the low 40’s. Somewhat hazy, a view of the Blackhawk statue across the river was dull and lifeless. Lack of decent sunlight made for rather muted scenes. Most of the foliage was gone from the parks trees. After spending several minutes walking around, I decided to focus on this group of trees.

As I set up, I was approached by a couple of workers from the Oregon Park’s Department. They were curious about my set up and wanted to know about my photography. I had to explain that I was an artist, a painter. I had to show them the set up and the paints and the brushes. Their reactions read as though they couldn’t understand why someone would take the time to paint a scene when you could be much faster with a camera. They decided that it was time to get back to work. Just as well.

I set into painting this scene. Cynthia, the other member, also found a scene that was to her liking. After finishing our works we broke for lunch. In a way, Murphy’s Law prevailed. As we were completing lunch, the sun came out. Unfortunately, I had to get back to Rockford to attend to details for a couple of my watercolor classes.

Leave a Reply

