h1

Candle and Teddy Bear Redux

December 13, 2011

Candle and Teddy Bear, Oil on Canvas 14" x 11"

As we move from autumn to winter, I find that I am spending more time in the studio. Over the summer and early autumn I spent more time outside and tended to neglect housekeeping  in the studio. A week ago, I  decided that some organization and clean up was in order. In the process, I opted to clear the studio of a few paintings. A few “clinkers”. Paintings that I realize are not good enough. About couple dozen such works.  The nice thing with oil paints is that you can apply gesso over old, unsuccessful works and start afresh. For now, each evening before leaving the studio, I grab a few paintings, apply gesso and leave them to dry overnight. Within a few days, I will have less inventory of paintings and a greater inventory of “blank” canvases ready for me to paint.

As I was clearing out the clinkers, I came across this work. I created this from life last year during the Christmas season. Before destroying this work, I decided to take some time and play with it first. A few touches of paint to the front side of the table. Brighter, more intense colors to the ornaments, greens and candle. Then, darken up the background. I have attached an image of the original design for your comparison.

Candle and Teddy Bear - Original

Leave a Reply

