h1

Farm Study and Barn Study

December 21, 2011

Farm Study, Oil on Gessoed Paper 6" x 8"

I realized that it was time to start coming up with an idea for this years Christmas cards. Although I had a couple of paintings available which would work, I decided to see if I could come up with a few additional options.

After shuffling through several loads of reference photos and creating numerous thumbnail sketches, I settled on these two designs. As I began to sketch each one onto some gessoed paper (remains from my watercolor classes), I  idea came to mind. I decided to try something really different for me and work the paint only using palette knives.

It definitely gives a different, juicy and impressionistic look to these subjects. It was challenging, at times difficult – but it was fun. Additional design possibilities came springing to mind. More to come.

Barn Study, Oil on Gessoed Paper 6" x 8"

Leave a Reply

