h1

Open Hearth Pond

December 29, 2011

 

Open Hearth Pond, Oil on Canvas 14" x 11"

After playing (and I do mean playing) with a couple small studies, I decided to revise the design further and take it to a slightly larger size. I find a great benefit to playing with a design or technique. Each time I work it, I expand or improve upon something which I learned during the previous struggle. Each struggle, or moment of difficulty (or even frustration), once worked through, allows me to have learned something new (about myself, my subject, the medium, etc.). I carry that new found knowledge onto the next painting and beyond. This is why, when someone asks, “How long did it take you to do that paintin’.” I can say, “All of my life!”. A lot of people hate that response, but it’s true.

Leave a Reply

