h1

Edge of the Rock plein Air Competition Day 6

June 20, 2012

Plein Air June 4 – Along the Lagoon Path; Oil on Canvas Panel 11″ x 14″

I decided to have some additional canvases stamped for the competition. So by the time the visitor center opened and I could get my canvas stamped and then get to the park, and find a spot, well, it was getting late.

I had a spot in mind, but as I got to the spot the view just did not wow me. So, I ventured around for a few more minutes before finding this location. I had worked on this for about an hour when a couple stopped by to check out my work. After a few moments of chatting, the man questioned my work. He was concerned that I had not included the light posts. I explained that I was waiting until the end before placing those kind of details into the painting. He questioned why I would not place the poles in at the beginning of my painting. I tried to explain that putting the posts and other details in too soon would make it difficult paint the larger areas. He still did not get it. Thank goodness his wife took over and explained it to him.

Leave a Reply

