h1

Peninsula Workshop Day 2

July 26, 2012

Plein Air June 28 – Hickey’s Launch; Oil on Canvas Panel 6″ x 8″

I decided to take a plein air workshop hosted by The Peninsula School of Art in Door County Wisconsin. In part, I wanted to take the workshop to help gain additional insight to creating my art work. Helen came along to relax.  Interesting week. Did not realize it, but after booking the workshop, I found out that my sister and her family would be vacationing in Door County that same week. So in addition to the workshop experience, it became a bit of a family reunion. I was busy painting during the day. Helen did some touring, shopping, hiking, etc. with my sister’s family and we dined and visited in the evenings.

Moving to day 2 of the workshop, we met at the assigned location ready to paint. Due to the forecast of hot weather and a site that offered little shade, the instructor decided to move us to a different spot. A few mishaps and about an hour later, we were an alternate spot painting. Some shade available, but I was out in full sun anyway. I finished my first painting and had some time before we would break for lunch. I took advantage of tackling another little work. Finished the second work in a little over 30 minutes.

Plein Air June 28 – Bay Shoreline; Oil on Canvas Panel 8″ x 6″

Leave a Reply

