h1

October in Grand Detour – Study

December 10, 2012

October in Grand Detour – Study; Oil on Canvas Panel 9″ x 12″

Another painting based on work created during last years paint out in Grand Detour.

I was fortunate to have sold the little 6″ x 8″ study created that day. I had a photograph of the small painting and a photograph of the scene which helped, I also had a couple of the other small studies to help set the mood as well as guide my colors and temperatures.  I found that shortly into this painting I was relying heavily on my memories of my feelings from that day and almost ignoring the photograph of the scene. The painting moved effortlessly and set the stage for a larger version.

Leave a Reply

