h1

Shadowed Box

December 16, 2012
Shadowed Box; Oil on Canvas 16" x 20"

Shadowed Box; Oil on Canvas 16″ x 20″

I received notice concerning an upcoming competition which I am planning to enter. The manager of the organization made it clear that she is looking for submissions of works that show the artists taking a new direction. Although I still have a few autumn landscapes that are begging to be painted, I decided to take a short break and create a work specifically for submission to this competition.

In search of inspiration, I leafed through a sketchbook and came across a design which I witnessed while in Door County during the summer of 2011. I liked the design and felt that this could be the “new” for which the competition is desiring.

Started by creating a little 8″ x 10″ sketch. Once I was happy with the design, I took it to the larger 16″ x 20″ format. The painting is photoed, the competition submission is in and now I await the organizations decision.

Shadowed Box - Study; Oil on Canvas 8" x 10"

Shadowed Box – Study; Oil on Canvas 8″ x 10″

Leave a Reply

