h1

Flower Bouquet

April 13, 2013
Flower Bouquet Start; Watercolor 5" x 7-1/2"

Flower Bouquet Start; Watercolor 7-1/2″ x 5″

Working with my Still Life students, I decided to go a little further with my lesson.

I have been attempting to convey the importance of small thumbnail sketches to help determine the best possible design to paint. These small thumbnails also help uncover shortfalls or challenges. Best to find out before getting halfway into a watercolor painting.

I have asked the students to arrive at class, set their gear to the side, grab a seat and make at least three thumbnail sketches (moving their chairs as necessary). I was not getting the results which I had hoped for. To help them, I have started to make a series of drawings prior to class so that they could observe the possibilities which I see, as well as the problems which I encounter in designing my drawings.

This particular evening, I brought in a bouquet of flowers which my wife had received from her sister-in-law (thanks Sherri). I made three sketches (shown below). I discussed any principles which I worked into the designs. We also discussed a couple possible pitfalls which I encountered. We discussed possible strategies for executing each of the designs for the best possible painting.

To further assist my students, I also did the quick first stage, or as I call it, outline stage, of the bouquet (shown above). This was done to give them an idea to help start their paintings.

Flower Bouquet Design Sketches; 8-1/2" x 11"

Flower Bouquet Design Sketches; 8-1/2″ x 11″

Leave a Reply

