h1

Plein Air – Midway Lagoon

August 3, 2013
Lagoon Reflections; Plein Air Oil on Canvas Panel 12" x 9"

Lagoon Reflections; Plein Air Oil on Canvas Panel 12″ x 9″

On a previous excursion to Midway Village, I noticed the reflection of this tree off the pond at the main entrance. I had a feeling that it could work but did not wish to paint it this day. I put the idea on the back burner. Even while painting in the village, I found myself giving thought to this idea for a painting.

Monday morning, I had to get out to paint. The pond at Midway seemed like a good project for a sunny morning. I arrived and settled upon this view and angle. Although I was facing west, I was painting under a canopy of trees. Occasionally I had to adjust for the dappled sunlight hitting the canvas. Had a nice, short conversation with a jogger. Seems that he was not from the area, but had heard about the Midway path. While running, he noticed me painting and, well, curiosity got the best of him. While painting, I noticed a local photographer working portrait shots around the mill. Other than this, it was a fine day for painting. And the results were pleasing as well.

Leave a Reply

