h1

Plein Air – Oak Ridge Stalwart

August 6, 2013
Stalwart; Plein Air Oil on Canvas Panel 8" x 10"

Stalwart; Plein Air Oil on Canvas Panel 8″ x 10″

Predicted to be another very warm, okay hot, day. I decided to head over to Oak Ridge. I had not painted over there in a long time. Most of my paintings of this area have been from spots adjacent to the parking areas (main lot, boat launch and equestrian lot).

I decided to get a quick painting done and then check out a trail for possible designs. Went with a bluish-gray green for the distant trees. Painting progressed smoothly.

About thirty minutes into the painting a fellow and his dog (not on a leash and running all over the place – good thing I am not scared by dogs) stopped to take a look at what I was doing. He asked if he could take a photo of me at work. I asked why. He replied that he thought it was artsy. We got into a short discussion and he told me that he was finding it difficult to sell his photographs at art fairs due to all the competition from other photographers. Sorry, no tears here.

Finished the painting. Put my gear into the car and decided to hike a trail to see what possibilities awaited me. Should have examined the map at the start of the trail. I took the east trail and thought (dangerous) that it was about a one to two mile loop. Wrong. The trail went on and on. Twists. Turns. A long stretch along a creek. I came upon another map post and realized that I better turn around. Good exercise. Found some additional subjects/designs for future forays.

Soaking wet with sweat by the time that I got back to the car. Back home for a dry shirt and then lunch.

Leave a Reply

