h1

Rock River by Whitman

August 14, 2013
Rock River by Whitman; Plein Air Oil on Canvas Panel 8" x 10"

Rock River by Whitman; Plein Air Oil on Canvas Panel 8″ x 10″

Crazy summer. The last week of July and I am bundled in a sweatshirt painting alongside the Rock River. This spot is about five feet off of the Sinnissippi Recreation Trail and two feet from being in the river. Busy, busy path this morning.

Hard to capture the clouds. As I started the work, the sky had clearly defined clods and eye leading patterns. I got the scene and cloud patterns sketched but by the time I was completing the block in, the sky had changed to being basically overcast. Cloud patterns and colors just were not there.

I forged ahead to capture the land mass, water and buildings in the distance. I saved the sky for last. I had to improvise and rely on my memory for awhile. An d then, it changed again. Clouds were more distinct. I moved quickly to get colors and values in place and adjusted. Before I could finish, it changed back to overcast.

Fortunately, I had enough of the color notes in place to guide me. Finished and headed home. As I neared home, you guessed it, clouds were back in force. Interesting day.

Leave a Reply

