h1

Sinnissippi Rose Garden

August 22, 2013
Sinnissippi Rose Garden; Plein Air oil on Canvas Panel 11" x 14"

Sinnissippi Rose Garden; Plein Air oil on Canvas Panel 11″ x 14″

I was preparing for an upcoming plein air workshop. We would be based out of the Nicholas Conservatory Gardens in Rockford. The redesign and rebuild project was completed last year.  I had not been out to see the park since to construction was completed. I decided to go and get a few paintings to help me get a feel for the park.

I arrived before mid-morning to see what was here and perhaps get a small painting. As I moved around the park with my scene finder, I made numerous sketches with notes of ideas. Time flew. Before I knew it, it was almost noon.

I came back the next day with this spot in mind. Unfortunately for me, the gardeners were not working on the roses this day which would have added a nice element to the design. Also, the roses were a few weeks past their prime.

Not the best painting, but it was fun. I realized that I should spend more time painting here. Lots of good possibilities. Also, a lot of activity. There were a lot of people strolling through the gardens and there was a lot of foot traffic along the adjacent fitness path. I felt very safe working here.  Key consideration when painting on your own.

I plan to get out here a lot more as long as the weather holds and perhaps beyond.

Leave a Reply

