h1

Creek Reflections

August 23, 2013
Creek Reflections; Oil on Canvas 12" x 12"

Creek Reflections; Oil on Canvas 12″ x 12″

Still playing with the idea of this waterway and the lily pads.  Rieboldt’s Creek. I wanted to play with it in a square format. Why not? I had the canvas and a frame.

I started the painting by applying a thin wash of Permanent Rose acrylic paint. After it was thoroughly dry, I sketched in my design and worked loosely from top to bottom trying not to cover up all of the under wash. The pops of the bright acrylic hue through all of the greens creates a nice contrast. I also used Dioxazine Purple to create the shadows of the distant trees.

Leave a Reply

