h1

Clouds – August 14

September 18, 2013
Clouds - August 14 6:30pm

Clouds – August 14 6:30pm; Oil on Canvas Panel 6″ x  8″

Interesting day. Plein air painting in the morning. Studio painting in the afternoon. I was planning to cut the lawn after dinner when my youngest son surprised me (in a good way). My son had been working on an upcoming sermon all day and decided that by cutting the lawn, he could get some fresh air and exercise.

While he was cutting the lawn, I took advantage of the beautiful clouds in the sky. I grabbed my paint box and bucket of supplies and set up on our front porch. I finished the first painting as my son was finishing the lawn.  I felt that there was still enough daylight left to attempt another small painting, I moved out onto the front lawn, looked south and set off to work.

I worked to the mid-tones and then brought up the highlights towards the end of the painting. Primarily used, Ultramarine Blue, Cadmium Yellow, Alizaron Crimson and Titanium White.

A couple of fun studies.

Clouds - August 14 7:15pm; Oil on Canvas Panel 6" x 8"

Clouds – August 14 7:15pm; Oil on Canvas Panel 6″ x 8″

Leave a Reply

