h1

Reflections at Pierce Lake

September 21, 2013
Reflections at Pierce Lake: Oil on Canvas Panel 8" x 10"

Reflections at Pierce Lake: Oil on Canvas Panel 8″ x 10″.

The weather forecast was not predicted to be good for plein air painting. Since it was to be cloudy, I had not made contact with Midway nor with Indian Hills. I planned to paint in the studio.

It was very cloudy, but I felt the itch to get out and paint. I decided to go over to Rock Cut. Although I packed the painting gear, I planned to move around the park to gather sketches and generate ideas for future visits. After spending about twenty minutes sketching in this area, I decided to break out the gear and paint. No expectations, just paint. Even though the clouds were thick and there were no strong shadows, I liked the play of this scene  in the softened  light.

About an hour into the painting things changed. The sun started to break through the clouds. My soft design was now uncovering some interesting shadows. I had to restrain and stick to the design already established on my canvas.  Sun was shining onto my palette and canvas. I had to move my set up to allow me a little less glare. I was backed up into some trees when a woman came into the area. She cast her line into the water before realizing that I was there.  I didn’t so much mind her fishing, but the constant casting and reeling took away the clean crisp reflections. A few minutes later, her boyfriend arrived and they took off down a path to fish in a more isolated spot.

Leave a Reply

