h1

Midway Reflection

September 27, 2013
Midway Reflection; Oil on Canvas Panel 16" x 12"

Midway Reflection; Oil on Canvas Panel 16″ x 12″

I had not made arrangements to paint at Midway, but it was a good day to be out painting. I decided to go to paint at the Midway pond. I found this spot at the north side of the pond. The larger size (16″ x12″) took me longer to paint. Maybe too long. The shadows and colors changed a lot more than I needed. In the work, I lost the initial vision. I did not have my camera with me and my preliminary sketches were insufficient to help me hold to my initial inspiration.

After working this for about 2-1/2 hours, I decided to pack up, head home and come back the next day. I did come back the next day. Found that I had to do a lot of work to get the painting back to where it should have been.

Leave a Reply

