h1

Artist at Work

December 7, 2013
Artist at Work: Oil on Canvas 12" x 24"

Artist at Work: Oil on Canvas 12″ x 24″

A couple summers ago, I was creating some plein air paintings at the Nygren Wetland Preserve. While I painted, my wife spent time exploring and gathering photographs. One of her photos was of me painting among the tall grasses.

It took a couple years, but I finally decided to play with this design on a long canvas. I used a wash of Alizaron Crimson to tone the sky and a mottled wash of Transparent Red Oxide for the grass. Once these were in place, I applied body paint to finish of the painting.

Leave a Reply

