h1

Pierce Pathway

December 12, 2013
Pierce Pathway - Plein Air: Oil on Canvas Panel 8" x 10"

Pierce Pathway – Plein Air: Oil on Canvas Panel 8″ x 10″

I ventured out to Rock Cut to get another plein air painting before the colors were gone and the weather turned. I settled on this spot. I have painted at this spot before but felt that I might be able to create something a bit more useable.

I worked a few sketches to play with the design. I decided to make some alterations to the road but left the foliage and shadow patterns intact. Fun painting. A setting like this is a real challenge. Full of color and constantly changing due to the sun. Hard to keep your focus with all the possibilities emerging.

Leave a Reply

