h1

Rieboldt Flow

February 23, 2014
Rieboldt Flow; Oil on Canvas 18" x 24"

Rieboldt Flow; Oil on Canvas 18″ x 24″

Every painting I ever painted is a winner! Yeah, I wish.

I finished a painting about four months ago.  At the time, I felt good about it. However, the more I lived with the work, the more I felt that it was missing something. Something wasn’t right or at least needed to be improved.  Finally figured it out…a couple of times.

I made some changes to the mid ground trees and thought that would do it. Then I decided to make some changes to the background trees to give a greater feel of distance. I did this by altering the color and value of the background trees and adding patches of sky. Then I realized that I had a lot of green, so I added some warm tones into the  marsh grasses to bring the grasses forward. It has a better feel to it. I have an idea of changing the proportions and going larger.

Leave a Reply

