h1

Clearing Skies

March 11, 2014
Clearing Skies; Oil on Canvas 36" x 48"

Clearing Skies; Oil on Canvas 36″ x 48″

It started with a couple hours to kill, a photo and an idea.

I finished a large painting in the early afternoon. Rather than start another sizable work that day, I thought it best to start fresh the next morning.  Since I had some time left, I grabbed a photo which had been near my easel for awhile and a small 8″ x 10″ canvas. A couple hours later, I had a work which I titled, Breaking up Over the West 40.

In review of the work, I felt that I could make some changes that would improve the design. A couple days later, I had  created the 16″x 20″ painting, Breaking Up Over the West 40 Study 2. Looking at this second work, I felt that it would yield a great feel if I were to take it larger. I also felt that the title needed to be a little less negative. The larger version 36″ x 48″, Clearing Skies.

Break up  Over the West 40 Study; Oil on Canvas 8" x 10"

Break up Over the West 40 Study; Oil on Canvas 8″ x 10″

Break up Over the West 40 Study 2; Oil on Canvas 18" x 24"

Break up Over the West 40 Study 2; Oil on Canvas 18″ x 24″

Leave a Reply

