h1

Cabins at Waters End

March 23, 2014
Cabins at Waters End #2; Oil on Canvas 8" x 10"

Cabins at Waters End #2; Oil on Canvas 8″ x 10″

Last autumn, we traveled up to Door County, in part to retrieve works from Woodwalk Gallery and also take advantage of enjoying the autumn colors in a place we love to visit.

My wife wanted to visit one of the local shoppes. I took advantage of the time and ambled down the road toward the bay. Although it was cloudy/overcast, I snapped a number of photos as possible resource material. I happened to look down a drive just as the sun broke through the clouds and illuminate this cabin. Fortunately, I was able to capture the image before the clouds covered up the sun again.

In preparation to perform a watercolor painting as a demonstration for my Level 3 students, I retrieved the reference photo. I created some pen sketches to help my students understand the process of creating a design rather than just copying a photo. I also worked up these two little oil paintings to further explain the process.

Although I showed the reference photo to the students, I created the watercolor painting utilizing only my pen sketches and the oil paintings. The following week, my students had the opportunity to create their version of this design.

Cabins at Waters End #1; Oil on Canvas 8" x 10"

Cabins at Waters End #1; Oil on Canvas 8″ x 10″

Leave a Reply

