h1

Hidden Timber Gardens

August 4, 2014
Hidden Timber; Oil on Canvas Panel 8" x 10"

Hidden Timber; Oil on Canvas Panel 8″ x 10″

Painted at a site a few miles east of Oregon Illinois. A nursery called Hidden Timber – and it is. From the main road it appears to be a homestead. A few yards into the property I realized that this place had a lot of perennial plants and trees.

I made my way to a spot among the trees and shade. I nestled in so as to minimize blocking the path. A simple design. As I finished my rough drawing on my canvas, I started right in at my focal point, the plants at the shade. About a half hour into the painting I felt real good about this one.

Everything was moving well. No real problems until I got to the foreground. I had not given enough thought as to how I would handle this spot. Took a few moments to examine my options. Fortunately, I made a good decision.

Leave a Reply

