h1

Nicholas Gardens Along the Sinnissippi

August 7, 2014
Nicholas Gardens Along the Sinnissippi; Oil on Canvas Panel 9" x 12"

Nicholas Gardens Along the Sinnissippi; Oil on Canvas Panel 9″ x 12″

Another day at The Nicholas Conservatory. I went with the intention of finding a design that could incorporate the recreation path. I used a fair amount of artistic license on this one. I removed a pole, a tree in the foreground, a strip along the path which is being prepped to grow prairie grasses, and trolley tracks. I also improvised (or exaggerated) the gardens. Busy place this morning.

About an hour and a half into this painting, the sun was starting to get onto my canvas. I turned my set up clock wise to shield my painting from the sun. If you will, I turned my set up from twelve o’clock to two o’clock. Not much of a change, but enough to confuse people. A couple women approached me to ask about seeing my painting. I obliged. One woman assessed my work but looked in the direction which my easel was facing. Although I was standing less than ten feet from the recreation path, I was facing the corner of the greenhouse ( just slightly off the right side of my painting). The woman asked if I was making up my scene and improvising based upon my feelings of this place. I was stupefied. I started to point in the direction of the scene which I was painting. The woman’s friend caught my inference and announced the news to the first woman. The woman then inquired as to why I was not facing my subject. I pointed skyward. The friend announced that the sun was the reason. Thank goodness for friends.

Feeling good about this painting, I headed home for lunch. Late morning clouds had moved into the area. Following lunch, Helen and I ventured over to Oak Ridge. I wanted to work on paintings of the sky and clouds. Helen wanted to sketch some of the wildflowers and trees. Good day to be painting.

 

Clouds Over Oak Ridge; Oil on Gessoed Paper 6" x 8"

Clouds Over Oak Ridge; Oil on Gessoed Paper 6″ x 8″

Leave a Reply

