h1

Deck Flowers and Hollyhocks

August 20, 2014
Deck Flowers; Oil on Canvas Panel 6" x 8"

Deck Flowers; Oil on Canvas Panel 6″ x 8″

I had been painting in the studio during the morning. After lunch, I took a few moments on our deck to enjoy the warmth and sunshine. It was too nice a day to stay cooped up in the studio. I noticed the way the light was playing off of the Petunias and a ceramic pot which my wife had created while in college. I grabbed my plein air gear and set up on the deck. Good decision. Created the painting, Deck Flowers. Great to enjoy a beautiful day while working.

A few days later, a beautiful Sunday afternoon. My wife and I were admiring the Hollyhocks behind our garage. Nice to hear my wife say that she was happy that we planted the flowers there (especially since she objected to the idea when I planted them last summer). I decided that rather than spend time working the crossword puzzle and listening to the Cubs game, I would rather spend time in the yard with my paint box. Great afternoon despite the Cubs loss.

Hollyhocks; Oil on Gessoed Paper 8" x 6"

Hollyhocks; Oil on Gessoed Paper 8″ x 6″

Leave a Reply

