h1

Eagle Harbor Morn, Andersons, Eagle Harbor Sunset

September 26, 2014
Eagle Harbor Morn; Plein Air Oil on Canvas Panel 6" x 8"

Eagle Harbor Morn; Plein Air Oil on Canvas Panel 6″ x 8″

While my wife went for an early morning stroll, I set up on the hotels beach to capture the harbor in the morning light. It was a lot less windy than the conditions which I fought the night before. Very calm. Moved fast and still had to battle to keep the vision. Took about a half hour to get this one done.  About the time I finished, my wife had just returned from her walk. We cleaned up and headed into town for breakfast at The Old Post Office.

Andersons; Plein Air oil on Canvas Panel 8" x 10"

Andersons; Plein Air oil on Canvas Panel 8″ x 10″

Following breakfast, we headed over to the Anderson dock. A lot of possibilities. Took a few minutes to move around and make some sketches. Settled on this design. It was sunny when I started but then clouds moved in. The sun peaked out a couple of times, but most the time I worked in filtered light. Finished a little before noon. We had lunch and I started on another painting. The second painting was proceeding well until the rain came. Quickly got my gear and supplies back to the car.

It rained throughout the afternoon. About dinner time the rain let up and it appeared that we might get a sunset. After dinner, we got back to the hotel. The plan was to grab my paint box. Load it with paint and with minimum supplies, walk into town to catch the sunset. Unfortunately, about a half way to town, it started to rain. We half ran, half walked back to the hotel . Felt like I was in some sort of Twilight Zone episode. As we got back to the hotel, the rain stopped. Rather than go back into town, I set up across the street from our hotel and captured what sunset we had (below). I was wet and cold, but got another painting done.

Eagle Harbor Sunset; Plein Air Oil on Canvas Panel 6" x  8"

Eagle Harbor Sunset; Plein Air Oil on Canvas Panel 6″ x 8″

Leave a Reply

