h1

Eagle Harbor Sunset

October 8, 2014
Eagle Harbor Sunset; Plein Air Oil on Canavs Panel 6" x 8"

Eagle Harbor Sunset; Plein Air Oil on Canvas Panel 6″ x 8″

Door County. During the afternoon, a front came through and it rained. We did a little shopping and headed for dinner. The dinner was fine but a killer dessert – Fudge Chocolate Cake with homemade Salted Caramel Ice Cream. We headed back to the hotel.

I was itching to get another painting in and headed to the nearby beach to capture the sunset.  I knew it was a bit breezy, but this was tough. The temperature was dropping and I was dealing with wind gusts of 30 mph. Had trouble with wind playing havoc with my easel and my canvas. Eventually, Helen was using both hands to steady my easel and canvas while I quickly painted. Not a winning painting, but considering it was done in 20 minutes under very adverse conditions, I can not complain.

Leave a Reply

