h1

Thanksgiving 2014

November 29, 2014
Thanksgiving 2014; Oil on Canvas 8" x 10"

Thanksgiving 2014; Oil on Canvas 8″ x 10″

Happy Thanksgiving.

A few days earlier, I utilized grapes as a prop for my Still Life painters and my oil/acrylic painters. I liked the set up but, unfortunately, I was teaching and assisting students and therefore, unable to paint for myself.

Once home, I decided to use the grapes along with a small pumpkin to create a set up to serve as a Thanksgiving greeting to my mailing lists. Before I started, I had assumed that the leaves in the background would be the difficult part of this composition and had assumed that the grapes were among the least of my concerns. Boy, was I wrong. The leaves in the background did prove to be a challenge, but the grapes proved to be difficult..until I REALLY looked and observed them. After starting the grapes and then scraping them out a couple times and getting frustrated, I took a break and got myself a warm beverage. I sat in front of the display nursing my beverage while contemplating how to record this element. By the time I finished my beverage I had resolved the issue and was able to swiftly capture the grapes and finish the scene.

 

Leave a Reply

