h1

Sister Bay Barn

December 13, 2014
Sister Bay Barn; Oil on Canvas 11" x 14"

Sister Bay Barn; Oil on Canvas 11″ x 14″

Students in my Oil/Acrylic class requested that I supply a landscape idea for them to paint at our next session. I searched through paintings that were sitting in my studio but did not find any which I felt could be completed by the students within a class period. I flipped through my reserve of photos and found something that could work. I liked the design of the barn but I had to get clever. The photograph included a lot more landscape than the students needed, it was a very colorful autumn scene and the day was somewhat overcast. Enter creativity and artists prerogative. I simplified the scene to utilize only the barn, reduced the foliage to be a summer/early autumn time frame and added more dramatic shadow effects by bright sunshine. It worked well. The students were able to adequately work the scene within a single class period. 12 / 13 / 14

Leave a Reply

