h1

Wheeler Near McNeal

December 31, 2014
Wheeler Near McNeal; Plein Air Oil on Canvas Panel 11 x 14

Wheeler Near McNeal; Plein Air Oil on Canvas Panel 11 x 14

Late October. I decided to make my way to the crossroad of Wheeler and Flora Church. I anticipated a scene with bright, colorful foliage. Unfortunately, it was less than inspirational. I sized up my options and decided to venture south. Came upon this scene and went to work.

Nice morning for being outside. A bit cool, but warmer than it will be in January. I was set up across from a house. Their dog noticed me and barked a couple times before his master sternly put a stop to the noise. Unfortunately, I was only about an hour into the painting when the people left and, although inside the house, the barking started and would not stop. Amazing that even thought the dog was inside the house, the non stop barking got rather annoying. Hard to concentrate on painting with that noise. I gathered as much of the critical information as I needed and returned home. Took about twenty minutes to put the final tweaks and adjustments to finish the painting…without all the barking.

Leave a Reply

