h1

Espensheid

July 31, 2016
Espensheid - Plein Air - Oil on Canvas Panel - 9 x 12

Espensheid – Plein Air – Oil on Canvas Panel – 9 x 12

Traveled over to paint at Espensheid Preserve. Made my way down to the canoe launch. About two dozen geese were “lounging” by the river. Although I stayed well back from the river, most of the geese decided to get into the river… just in case. As I finished setting up my gear, making my thumbnail sketches and getting my palette charged up, I noticed the mini-migration had left only two geese still on land, at the waters edge. As I painted, I noticed that the few remaining geese eventually settled down to enjoy the sunshine. About an hour into the painting, about a dozen more geese were back on shore. By the time I was finishing the painting, I realized that all of the birds were back onshore. They must have realized that I meant them no harm as they all stayed put as I got busy getting all my gear down and loaded into the car.

Leave a Reply

