h1

Coffee Pot Display

September 1, 2016
Coffee Pot Display - Oil on Canvas Panel - 8 x 6

Coffee Pot Display – Plein Air – Oil on Canvas Panel – 8 x 6

My wife desired to plein air paint with me. However, she was expecting a phone call and suggested that we paint at our backyard. The flowers were in full bloom, so it seemed like a good idea. While I set off to work on a scene adjacent to our bird feeders, my wife cut a few flowers and placed them in an old coffee pot.

My design did not go well and after fighting with it for about 1-1/2 hours, I decided to wipe the design off of my canvas panel. As I was “de-painting”, I noticed a nice opportunity in the display which my wife had arranged. I grabbed a small canvas and attacked the panel. Took little under forty minutes to crate a painting that worked.

Best part was having to alter the shadows on the pot. As I was nearing completion, the sun gave me some great shadows of the petals. Had to go with God’s gift and capture the opportunity.

Leave a Reply

